

1992-2017

CONTACT DETAILS

t: +27 (0) 11 880 5800 t/: (+27) 11 442 3091 @: DurellJ@athleticssa.co.za ⊒: www.athletics.org.za

POSTAL ADDRESS

P O Box 2712 Houghton Estate 2041

STREET ADDRESS

Athletics House No. 3, 11th Avenue Houghton Estate Johannesburg 2198

BOARD MEMBERS

PRFS: Mr. Aleck Skhosana

VICE-PRES: Dr Harold Adams
T+F: Mr. Pieter Lourens
RR: Mr. James Moloi
CC: Mr. Jakes Jacobs
Ath: Ms. Dorah Mngwevu
ADD: Ms. Motlatsi Keikabile
Ms. Shireen Noble
Ms. Esther Malema
Ms. Ntathu Gwadiso
E.O. Mr. Jazz Mnyengeza

Mr. William Mokatsanyane

HONORARY MEMBERS

Mervyn KING Mluleki GEORGE

PARTNERS

IAAF
CAA
SASCOC
SRSA
NLC
ASA Provinces
ASA Associates
Old Mutual
SABC
Adidas
Tsogo Sun
SA Sports Trust

MISSION

To make a contribution towards Nation Building and Healing of our land, South Africa, and the Transformation of our Society, through the Development of Athletics, from Grassroots to the highest levels of Excellence To From Date Subject No pages ASA Members Athletics South Africa

25 January 2017

ASA 2020 Excellence Junior Squad

ELECTRONIC TRANSMISSION

Dear Members

Circular 9 of ASA 2017 (01/25) – ASA 2020 EXCELLENCE JUNIOR SQUAD

At the 2016 ASA AGM in July 2016 ASA submitted its ASA Selection Policy and Principles to the ASA Council.

At the ASA QGM in October 2016, Mr Aleck Skhosana, after bein reelected as President of ASA, stated that ASA are now ranked among the top 5 in the world after its success at the 2016 Olympic Games. He indicated that to improve on this position at the 2020 Olympic Games -ASA will be required to work in a 4 year cycle rather than a 1-year cycle as practiced in the past.

On 8 December 2017, ASA announced its 2020 Excellence Junior squad and athletes were given opportunity to appeal till the 14th December 2016.

With reference to the above, ASA now announce its Final Junior squad in preparation for the 2020 Olympic Games. (Athletes that are including in the final squad after appeal period are highlighted in red – see list below).

The 2020 ASA Excellence Junior Squad consists primarily of Youth and Junior athletes that were ranked in the Top 30 in 2016 in their respective events (See IAAF Website).

The progress of the listed athletes will be monitored in 2017. The 1st milestone in the progress of the listed athletes will be the 2017 ASA Youth and Junior Championships in April 2017. After the 2017 ASA Youth and Junior Championships the Squad will be updated, and more athletes may be added to this Squad.

The next milestone for the listed athletes will be the 2017 CAA African Junior Championships in May 2017 and IAAF World Youth Championships in Kenya 2017.

Special Notice: It is recommended that Athletes selected in the 2020 ASA Excellence Squad should obtain a South African Passport.

Page 1 of 2

For more information
Website: www.athletics.org.za



ASA 2020 EXCELLENCE JUNIOR SQUADS

NAME OF ATHLETE	AGE (2016>2020)	GENDER	PROV	SPECIALIST EVENT	SEASON BEST 2016
Tlotliso Leotlela	18>22	М	AGN	200m	20.47
Clarence Monyai	18>22	М	AGN	200m	20.36
Phemelo Matlaba	18>22	М	ANWN	400m	46.34
George Kusche	18>22	М	AGN	800m	1.47.45
Mpho Tladi	18>22	М	CGA	110mh	13.49
Thabo Maganyele	18>22	М	AGN	110mh	13.55
Kefilwe Mogawane	19>23	М	AGN	400mh	50.53
Chris Moleya	19>23	М	AGN	High Jump	2.23m
Burger Lambrecht jnr	18>22	М	AGN	Shot put	19.77m
Johan Glober	18>22	М	ACNW	Javelin	80.59m
Carel Haasbroek	18>22	М	AFS	Hammer throw	69.67m
Jason van Rooyen	19>23	М	CGA	Shot put	19.50m
Erich Wiese	18>22	М	ACNW	Javelin	72.90m
Tamzin Thomas	19>23	F	WPA	200m	23.35
Taylon Bieldt	18>22	F	AGN	100mh	13.35
Gazelle Magerman	19>23	F	AGN	400mh	57.75
Jo-Ane Van Dyk	19>23	F	ACNW	Javelin	57.32m
Leandri Geel	19>23	F	CGA	Discus	51.50m
Jana Steinman	17>21	F	ACNW	Shot put	15.21m
Meike Strydom	18>22	F	ASWD	Shot Put	15.34m
Taylor Underhay	17>21	F	CGA	100m	11.50
Velmein Hendriks	18>22	F	CGA	100mH	13.40
Thando Dlodlo	17>21	М	AGN	200m/100m	20.60
Retshidisitswe Mlenga	17>21	М	AGN	200m/100m	10.23
Malasela Senona	17>21	М	AGN	200m/100m	20.74
Silusapho Dingiswayo	<mark>17>21</mark>	М	AGN	110mH	13.57
Thapelo Legodi	<mark>17>21</mark>	М	AGN	110mH	13.70
Janco van Heyningen	17>21	М	AFS	110mH	13.74
Thapelo Maholela	<mark>17>21</mark>	М	AGN	110mH	13.79
Linford Maree	<mark>17>21</mark>	М	BOLA	400mH	50.56
Sokwakhana Zazini	<mark>17>21</mark>	М	AGN	400mH	50.85
Liam Pieterse	<mark>17>21</mark>	М	WPA	400mH	52.86
Hannes Janse van Rensburg	17>21	М	AGN	400mH	53.02
Kayle Blignaut	17>21	М	CGA	Shot put	20.42m
Morne Brandon	<mark>17>21</mark>	М	CGA	Shot put/ Discus	18.68m
Waldo Smit	17>21	М	ACNW	Javelin	79.92m
Werner Dames	17>21	М	ANWN	Javelin	72.10
Brendon Skinner	17>21	М	AGN	Javelin	83.86

From the Athletics South Africa Office: e-Mail: DurellJ@athleticssa.co.za

Page 2 of 2

For more information Website: www.athletics.org.za